Contented or Complaining?

Do everything without complaining or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, children of God without fault in a crooked and depraved generation, in which you shine like stars in the universe.  Philippians 2:14-15 NIV

Complaining is something that most of us struggle with on a daily basis.  But God doesn’t want us to struggle with it—he wants us to cut it out altogether!

Why?  Because complaining shapes your attitude and your attitude defines your day.  If we are to honor God, we need to stop the complaining. 

I’ll be the first to admit that this can be a huge challenge for Doctor Moms.  Quite frankly, we’re simply too tired to think about our attitude before words start spilling out of our mouth.

Here’s a recent example.  Matthew just finished up a week of diabetes camp.  He had a blast during the day, but his blood sugar dropped like crazy overnight.  My husband and I were up checking him and giving him juice every 2 hours.  Sometimes more…

One particular morning, I was exhausted.  Complaints rolled off my tongue before I ever gave them a single thought….Lord, I’m so tired.  I cannot believe how Matthew dropped last night!   How am I going to get through this day?  I’m so sleepy.  Honestly, it was pathetic.

But then God spoke to my heart:  You could thank me for getting Matthew through the night.

Oh my word.  God was right.  He did get us through the night—one of those drops was a big one and thankfully, we did catch it.  Only by the grace of God.

So I happily turned my complaining into praising.  Thank you, Lord, for getting us through the night.  Thank you for another day with my precious child!    Thank you for a husband who is willing to help with overnight checks.  And Lord, I’m so grateful that somehow you’ll give me the energy to get through this day.

Yes, God deserves our praises, not our complaints.  And while many Doctor Mom days are rough, we can still find ways to rejoice in the Lord!

Question:  What complaint can you turn into a praise?

About Tracy

I'm a Christian wife and mom of a son with Type 1 Diabetes. I hope my blog encourages and inspires other D-Moms.

Posted on July 5, 2011, in Attitude. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I often complain about not having enough time to get everything done. One of my homeschooling friends told me, “Nikki, God gives us exactly the right amount of time to get things done.”

    This really put things into perspective for me. It helps me to put the most important things that will serve Him first.

    I always make sure that I take a bible study and find the time to do my homework. It can be challenging at times, but there’s always things that we can cut from our daily schedules to make time.

    There is nothing our Heavenly Father wants more than time with his children!

    • You have a wise friend! : )

      Being in a bible study always helps me too….and I’m not right now. I really have to keep my focus, so I don’t neglect the Lord. I am working a daily read-thru-the-bible plan and that’s working great! Until the next bible study starts!!

      Your comments are always a blessing to me, Nikki! I hope you have a great day!

Share your thoughts!

