Confession

It’s been a rough couple of nights in our household.  Matthew’s blood sugar has been far from ideal and we’ve had very little sleep.

I’m tired.  Rundown.

On the edge of feeling overwhelmed.

Sound familiar?

Exhaustion is a huge enemy of every Doctor Mom.  Whenever it hits, I lose self-control in EVERY area….from my words, to my actions, to my diet.

It effects my attitude, my child and my marriage.

If you’re feeling the same way, please know that you’re not alone.

This journey as Doctor Mom is a difficult road.  Exhaustion will happen at some point.

What’s a Doctor Mom to do?

Well, I’ve decided to be good to myself.  God has blessed me with a free calendar today and I will take full advantage of it.

I will nap.  Without feeling guilty.

I will read my bible.  So thankful for the comfort.

I will listen to Christian music, light candles and play with my child.

I’m going to do my best to “recharge” so I can keep a smile on my Doctor Mom face.

Are you taking care of yourself?

About Tracy

I'm a Christian wife and mom of a son with Type 1 Diabetes. I hope my blog encourages and inspires other D-Moms.

Posted on July 20, 2011, in Taking Care of Yourself. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m so glad you got to take a nap today! I love naps, they just don’t happen enough lately. I often let my son play video games so I can rest with my daughter…don’t feel guilty for that!

  2. I hope you enjoyed your nap thoroughly! You so much deserve it! We just returned from an overnighter to a waterpark. It was so nice to just spend time with the family.

Share your thoughts!

