Daily Doctor Mom Secret #4

Secret #4: Build your team.

Do you like your child’s doctor?  I hope so!

If you don’t, it’s time to make a change. Don’t put it off another minute.

As Doctor Moms, we have to trust our child’s medical team.  If we don’t, our lives will be full of additional worry and stress. We’ll second-guess every decision and never have peace.

Take the time to find a doctor you trust.  Will it take extra effort on your part? Sure! But the reward will be worth it.

Trusting your child’s medical team will take a burden off your shoulders and allow you to step back into more of a “mom role.”

If you question your child’s doctor, pray about it.  Ask God to give you direction. He will faithfully point you in the right direction!

For the Lord gives wisdom, and from his mouth come knowledge and understanding. Proverbs 2:6

About Tracy

I'm a Christian wife and mom of a son with Type 1 Diabetes. I hope my blog encourages and inspires other D-Moms.

Posted on July 29, 2011, in Doctor Mom Secrets. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I agree 100%!!! Justin has had a couple doctors that I don’t trust… switching was, in the end, the best thing I have done. It takes a whole lot of un-needed pressure off.

  2. Great post! Our first endo. withheld a very important c-peptide test from me. She knew that I researched all labwork. Here it was high resulting in insulin resistence. With type 1, c-peptide is usually very low. I kept wanting to restrict his carbs and watch his diet and she wanted to let him eat whatever he wanted and just dose for it. If I would have stuck with her, my son would not be in a very good place with his diabetes today.

    With our new endo., she welcomed my diet suggestions and he lost 17 pounds which helps the insulin resistence (double diabetes) and keeps his insulin needs lower.

    The Lord has been so helpful in our journey and has blessed us with a wonderful diabetes/celiac team!

Share your thoughts!

