Picking Myself Up…

I woke up this morning feeling nothing but defeat.

I didn’t want to get out of bed.  I didn’t want to make breakfast for my family, feed the dog or go to church.

I had it bad.

Overnight Friday was spent basal testing Matthew.  Trying to figure out how to keep his sugar steady overnight.  I learned that his insulin levels overnight are WAY off.

But I made a tenative plan to fix it.  Then…I decided to basal test one more night, just to confirm the first results.

Doctor Moms–this is where God’s hand was on me…because…

The second basal test overnight Saturday showed different results.  I was so mad!  I wanted a pattern and it wasn’t there!  I thought I had a plan!  Now what?

I got out of bed and fixed the boys breakfast.  (Though there were tears in my eyes.)

And I while I was in the shower getting ready for church, God showed me that I was focusing on the problem..not the blessing.

Yes, there is something going on overnight with his BG.  Truthfully, I don’t know what it is yet or how to fix it.

BUT…

God had me test again.  If I had jumped in and implemented my plan, Matthew’s sugar would have dropped BIG TIME.

God prevented that from happening.  His hand is on me and He’s guiding me.  When I ask God for wisdom each morning, He’s answering!  What a blessing!

And that is where my focus needs to be.

What are you focusing on today?  Look for the blessing and thank God for it.

There is a blessing somewhere.

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.  Romans 15:13 NIV

 

About Tracy

I'm a Christian wife and mom of a son with Type 1 Diabetes. I hope my blog encourages and inspires other D-Moms.

Posted on September 4, 2011, in Attitude. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oh Tracy, I’m so sorry to hear about Matthew’s BG issues. I can relate 100% to both the BG fluctuations and having God’s hand guiding you.

    When we had Andrew in the hospital the other day, God was constantly one step ahead of me. He was there to help me catch many problems that occurred that night.

    May you continue to feel His presence as you press on to get more stable numbers.

    I’ll be praying for you and Matthew! Sending HUGS!!!

  2. Thank you…for reminding me to focus on the blessing.

Share your thoughts!

